Love Overflowing

Oddest compliment yet

on November 17, 2008

Emily is a regular in our church. She has only missed 3 masses her entire life for various reasons. Everyone knows her- they’ve watched her grow from a tiny newborn to a crazy toddler. So it not uncommon for people to tell us how cute she is on a weekly basis. Yesterday was no different.

I was waiting outside the sanctuary after mass so I could go back in and collect our stuff (I was Lector). This woman that I really didn’t recognize started walking up to me. I thought she was going to comment on the service or something. Nope. Instead she wanted to tell me that Emily was “edible. Absolutely edible. Just darling and so cute!” Edible, huh? I am used to being told how cute, how beautiful, how big she is getting and even how crazy she is but I have never been told that she is “Edible”. That’s one for the record books.

2 responses to “Oddest compliment yet

  1. Kelly W says:

    Wow Karon nobody has ever told you something like “she’s cute enough to eat?” One of those silly things people say I guess.

  2. Dana says:

    Well, if a kiddo is sooo cute… i say that they’re so cute I could just eat them all up. I would never say that to a stranger though… they might think I’m a cannibal. It’s obvious I’m not as refined as the church lady… edible sounds much better than “I wanna EAT you all up”!! LOL You gotta agree though karon, she is cute as a cupcake.

Leave a Reply

