Love Overflowing

Will I survive??

on February 23, 2009

I do it.

Me. Me.

I try.

I can!!!!!!!!

I DO IT!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Does this phase normally start now?? One of the girls I work with said she thought it didn’t start until 2 1/2 or 3. Well, we aren’t there yet!

How long does this phase normally last? Because I am not sure I am going to survive it!!!

It ranges from putting on clothes, coats, putting lids on cups, getting in the car seat and putting on shoes. And EVERYTHING in between. I could make a list a mile long of all the things that Miss Independent feels she needs to on her own.

I just have to take a deep breath and let her try. And help her out when she asks for help. She’ll never learn to do anything if she doesn’t try to do it on her own. It’s just frustrating and time consuming.

So until this phase is over, I need to make sure I am stocked up on paper towels, can count to 10 and have lots of extra time! Give me patience and strength.

4 responses to “Will I survive??

  1. kristina says:

    Don’t you love the independence phase! Its definitely a love/hate situation. Then when they are old enough to do it themselves, they want you to do it for them…..ugh!

  2. Mommy2Ally says:

    Ally has been in the “I DO IT!” stage for a month or two and she turned 2 in January. It’s constant, like you said. She wants to try everything. It makes me smile because she’s growing up but it’s frustrating when I”m trying to hurry. (Or when she undoes something to try it again…) I think it’s God’s way of telling me to just breath and slow down ๐Ÿ™‚

  3. Amy says:

    Um, Sean started this when he was closer to two, and is so head strong in it, I don’t think it will ever end. Sorry, I can give you no hope! ๐Ÿ™‚

Leave a Reply

