Love Overflowing

Not claiming victory by a long shot

on March 9, 2009

If there is anything that I have learned as a mom it’s not to claim victory before all is said and done. Know what happens when you claim victory prematurely??? It blows up in your face and takes you twice as long to get to where you were going. So there are no signs and parties going up as of yet but things are looking promising.

I had originally planned on started potty training at the end of April. Emily would be 2 1/2 and I thought it would be time. For the past several weeks, she had been telling me when she was peeing and when she needed a clean diaper. My mommy instincts told me that she was ready. I decided on a Thursday that the following Monday was going to be “panties only”. I talked up panties and being a big girl like there was no tomorrow. Monday came around and as I was changing her out of her overnight diaper I told her we were going with panties. We waved bye bye to diapers!

I got her a sippy full of water and a cup of juice. I set the oven timer for 20 minutes. I even put in the Elmo potty dvd. Didn’t even make it 1o minutes before she came running to me…”I got to potty mommy!!!” All day, just like that. I never even got the opportunity to ask her if she needed to go! We decided to go to the library that night. I was a little hesitant due to our in progress training. I contemplated breaking out the pullups. I decided against because she had shown me during the day that she could tell me when she needed to go. And she wore panties to nap in and woke up dry. So we went to the library clad in panties. Know what? No accidents at the library!

The rest of the week was pretty much the same. Sure we had some accidents. Most were due to her being preoccupied and not paying attention to her body. I think we have had a total of 6 accidents and 1 poop accident. Not too bad if I do say so myself.

We had been wearing overnight pullups to bed. Sunday morning Emily came banging on our door. “Mommy!!!!!!!!! I need to POTTY!!!!!!!” I was in shock. She was dry! 1am this past morning- “mommy, I need to potty.” This morning she was dry. Granted she pee’d 2 more times in the morning. But she was dry. I keep telling myself that it’s necessary. It’s something that she has to learn to do. Although I wasn’t ready for the 1am wake up call. I thought we had a month or so before she would be ready to pee in the middle of the night. I am just selfish and really like my sleep. I know it will get better and soon she will be able to hold it. I just need to work on limiting her water intake before bed.

In the next week or so, we will begin working on pulling down your own pants and panties. That will be a huge step to independence as well. I have, hanging on my refrigerator, a piece of paper from Pampers regarding potty training. I don’t remember the exact information but it was something like this:

  • It takes 10 months of actively training to become habit.
  • The average age of girls who are able to go to the bathroom unassisted is 30 or 33 months.

I keep that on the refrigerator as hope. Hope that it will get easier and that I won’t be spending most of my day in the bathroom with Emily.

I know I am truly lucky though. I know many, many parents have a much harder time at training than I am. I was expecting a harder time. I am glad that I listened to my instincts and followed her ready signs. She was truly ready and was just waiting for me to give her the green light.

But…………………………….

I am not claiming victory. Not now. Not for awhile.

But, the progress is great and I can’t complain!

4 responses to “Not claiming victory by a long shot

  1. Kelly says:

    Hey Karon you probably already know this but when you get to the step of her pulling pants and underwear down, don’t forget the elastic waistband pants! Hannah still needs help when she wears snap pants.

  2. Dana says:

    That is SO great Karon… I’m beyond jealous!! We’re in pullups during the day and nighttime diapers at night. I wish he would tell me when he has to pee… would make things so much easier. Keep up the good work Emily!! xoxo

  3. Amber says:

    Wow! Way to go Emily! It’s great that she’s so excited about it.

  4. kristina says:

    That is great Karon! Way to go Emily! She is getting to be such a big girl now…….sniff, sniff 😉

Leave a Reply

