Love Overflowing

Nappy Nap Nap

on March 19, 2009

Naps are interesting here now that Emily is potty training and in a toddler bed. (I don’t want to say “potty trained” because she still does have the occasional accident and is in pull ups at night.) Some days are good and we don’t battle. Some days are ok. I only have to take her to the bathroom once. Other days are ridiculous. She’s like a jack in the box. Up and down, up and down. It’s maddening.

I decided to try a nap sticker chart. The potty chart went over really, really well so I thought I’d give this a whirl. I searched and searched the net to no avail. Frustrated, I decided to make one myself. It’s not the best but I think it will do the job.

The jist of the chart is that she has to nap 5 out of 7 days to receive a reward. The more she naps- the bigger the reward. I know 5 out of 7 days does not seem enough. Believe me, I would prefer 7 out of 7 but some weeks that is not possible. Sometimes one day during the weekend naps are brushed to the side (bad mommy) and almost every week she spends a day at Grandma’s. That day is a huge problem with naps. You are 99.7% assured that there will be no nap taken on that day. Grandma tries but it’s just too exciting.

So, we’ll see how the chart works. Hopefully it will be enough to motivate her to want to nap.

napchart

Leave a Reply

