Love Overflowing

Chocolate Cupcakes

on April 7, 2009

Emily loves to bake so for Valentines Day I found this little baking mat at the Dollar Store. It had a recipe for chocolate cupcakes. I didn’t know if the recipe would be any good or not but I figured it was worth a try. Emily would love it because it involved adding ingredients together. We decided to try it out yesterday. I had bought some Easter cupcake liners and sprinkles for the occasion and we decided to send them with Daddy to work.

Chocolate Cupcakes

Ingredients
1 1/2 cups flour
1 cup sugar
1 tsp salt
1/2 cup vegetable oil
1 cup water
1 tsp baking soda
1/3 cup cocoa powder
1 tsp vinegar

Directions
Mix all of the ingredients well with a mixer. It should be brown and smooth. Free of lumps. Bake at 350 for 25 minutes. Cupcakes will be moist and delicious.

Buttermilk or milk may be substituted for water. Melted butter may be substituted for oil.

My notes:
I made the recipe exactly as is. They turned out ok. There weren’t bad but they weren’t Betty Crocker. If I were to make them again, I might try adding a bit of vanilla and possibly substituting milk to make it creamier. We also added a few chocolate chips to the top of each cupcake as well.

The recipe didn’t say how many cupcakes this made. I made 18. I would say, going off the basic recipe, that you should make 12. They don’t rise as much as boxed mixes.

Leave a Reply

