Love Overflowing

A little more real….

on August 7, 2009

I am now 16 weeks pregnant. I still don’t “feel” pregnant. It really hasn’t sunk in yet either. I am sure it will become more real as my belly looks more like it’s housinga baby, not housing a package of lard. But I am not there yet. I am not sure if it is because, for two and a half years, I have been telling myself that Emily was going to be my only precious child. I had made my peace with it and was happy with our future. Don’t get me wrong, I am beyond thrilled and over the moon to be able to add to our family but it’s just a huge adjustment on my part. I just haven’t been able to wrap my brain around the situation yet. I am happy though. I can’t wait to meet this little person. I am sure once s/he makes themselve known with kicks and such it will set in and the reality will hit me in the face. I will be the mommy of two come January.

I have had 4 ultrasounds since finding out I was pregnant. Yes, 4. Many people get 2 or so. I have been fortunate (or unfortunate, depending on how you look at it) to have been able to see my little one on the screen a lot. That trend won’t change anytime soon either unfortunately. I am dealing with some issues with this pregnancy that I won’t bore you with the details. It entails limited activity and more monitoring. Kind of sucky in a way but I am very blessed to be dealing with the issues I am having. I have another ultrasound scheduled for the week we come back from vacation to see how/if the issue has progressed. Prayers that it progresses in the right way. The good thing is that it is not severe enough to put me on bed rest or cause us to cancel our vacation plans. The baby seems healthy at this point and that is what counts.

Stephen and I got to see the little one on Thursday. That baby was bouncing around like crazy! It was so funny to see the little arms and legs moving like they were in a kung-fu movie. I can only imagine what I am going to be feeling soon! The poor tech was having such a hard time getting a read on the heart rate because of the constant movement. I hope that isn’t a sign of what is to come! By the way, the ultrasound tech thinks she knows what we are having! She told us but we want to make sure at our next appointment since I will be 20+ weeks at that point.

I guess I should start scanning some pictures into the computer at some point! We’ll have an album full by the time the baby is born!

Leave a Reply

