Love Overflowing

Accidents happen but they still suck

on April 20, 2010

Yes, I know that accidents happen. That’s why they are called accidents. Doesn’t mean that I can’t dislike them more than I dislike allergies. This was such a dumb accident. I can’t even say that my accident happened because I was doing something cool like skiing or digging a hole…..

I just had surgery to repair a lisfranc injury. Basically, the tendon that holds your big toe to the other four tore away from the bone. I was getting ready to take the kids shopping for some spring clothes when it happened. Emily was strapped into the car and I was carrying Zachary out there. Somehow I planted my foot funny on the step and I went down. I am not sure really how it happened. All I know is that I thank God that I was able to set Zachary down safely before I face planted on the garage floor. Thank goodness Stephen’s car wasn’t there otherwise it would have really hurt! I truly didn’t think I did that much damage to my foot. I was going to continue to head to the mall to get the kids some new clothes. I was determined and dumb! I made it as far as the bridge before I came to my senses and realized that walking on it was probably not the smartest thing in the world, especially since I could feel my shoe getting tighter. I put Zachary down for a nap, put on a movie for Emily and started icing my foot. I told Stephen I think I had just sprained it and it would be fine. After an hour of icing and continued swelling, I decided that it needed to be looked at.

Stephen and I headed to the urgent care while my mother-in-law took wonderful care of my kids. After an x-ray there, I was sent home in a post-op shoe and told to use crutches and follow up with an orthopedist. They thought I had just chipped a bone. Trying to shorten an already long story, an mri showed that the chip was due to the tendon tearing away from the bone. I had to have surgery to repair it or face mid-foot pain and arthritis in 20 years.

All of this could not have happened at a better time really. (Sense some sarcasm?) We were finally getting out of the house after a long winter with Zachary. The weather was turning beautiful and we had been taking daily walks. The topper was that Stephen was in the process of changing jobs. Beautiful right??? So that means he has not had the ability to take any time off. The day of my surgery was his next to last day at work. Luckily, he was able to get off early and be there when I woke up and drove me home.

I have a WONDERFUL mother-in-law. I cannot say that enough times. She has dropped everything to help me out. Without complaint. At least that I have heard. She has wrangled two children at doctor’s visits and the surgery center. She comes over first thing in the morning and stays until Stephen goes to work. She has been an angel. I honestly don’t know what I would do without her. I know I could manage but it would be hard. Very, very hard.  At night, I hobble into Zachary’s room when he wakes up and transfer him to his stroller. I then push the stroller and catch up with my crutches. It’s a little unconventional but it works and that’s what counts.

And the main thing is that we are doing it. I am thankful for my mother-in-law and all those who have offered help and dinner. The playgroup I belong to has been amazing. They have taken turns bringing us dinner a couple of times a week and my sister has sent dinner. It might seem like a little thing but it’s huge to me. It makes my heart happy.

So that’s it in a nutshell. It’s been crazy around here. Lots getting neglected but things getting taken care of. You realize what really needs to get done and the rest is just gravy. I am behind in a ton of stuff but will catch up. Hopefully I will be able to catch up on some posts since I am sitting in the recliner a lot. That would be a good thing. Occupy my time a bit.

It’s all good….

Leave a Reply

