Love Overflowing

Emily

My daughter. Growing up way too fast. You are already three and a half years old. It seems just like yesterday that we were bringing you home from the hospital. Just yesterday we were celebrating your first birthday. And in the blink of an eye, you grew. You are growing into an amazing, beautiful young girl. You never cease to amaze me. The things you come up with, quite the imagination! The things you say! You have an amazing vocabulary and can talk up a storm. Nonstop from the time you wake up to the moment your eyes finally close for naps and bedtime.
You are beautiful. On the outside and inside. You are so full of love. Love for your friends and family. You opened up your heart immediately and let your little brother in. The love between the two of you already amazes me. You loved him the moment you met him. You have been an amazing big sister so far. I hope it continues as you both grow. You are quite the helper as well. Most things I ask you to do, you do without complaint. You have been especially helpful since my foot has been broken. Sure, you are still a three year old and behave as such but you also behave above your age at times.
Sometimes I forget that you are only 3. I can hold long conversations with you and enjoy them. You are the size of a small five year old. I have a hard time knowing what would be normal for a child your age. You amaze me every day. I have to tell myself that you are still a little girl. Try not to expect too much from you. You exceed many of my expectations but I want to be sure that I don’t set unrealistic expectations.
This afternoon, you came into my bedroom during your nap. You laid on my bed, curled up and started sucking your thumb while I rubbed your leg. Despite all of your advancements in my eyes, you are still a lIttle girl. You will always be my little girl.

Leave a comment »