Love Overflowing

Just sew you know

on October 7, 2010

I asked for and received a sewing machine for Christmas. And just took it out of the box last week. How sad is that? I have been using the excuse that I wasn’t able to walk down the stairs for three months but that doesn’t hold a lot of water. What happened to January-April and June-September? Procrastination!!!

As a kick in the butt, I signed up for “get to know your sewing machine” class at our local community college. In my opinion, the instructor spent too much time on explaining the needles, threads, etc and not enough hands on time. It was still a worthwhile class. I can thread my machine and clean it. I *think* I can sew somewhat of a straight line. I still have many, many questions. Luckily, I have several mommy friends and my mother in law to help me out.

Surprisingly, I actually got the machine out of its case after class was over. Both kids were at their grandma’s house for the day so I decided to finish a blanket that I was supposed to make for Emily over a year ago. She was still in her toddler bed when I bought the material!

It is not perfect, by far, but she loves it! The look on her face when she came home and saw it waiting for her. That was enough to make the frustration worthwhile.

Leave a Reply

