Love Overflowing

Lagniappe

on October 11, 2010

I have been reading  “When You Eat at the Refrigerator, Pull Up a Chair” by Geneen Roth. The book is her 50 ways to feel thin, gorgeous and happy. I enjoyed the read. There are a few ways that really resonated with me. One was when she talked about wearing your “special” clothes on non-special days, especially on days where you feel pretty crappy about yourself. She states that by “wearing special-occasion clothes on any old day means being willing to believe that you are special on every old (and new!) day.” You should pick out some gorgeous clothes on days when you would tend to pick out your grubby sweatpants/yoga pants/stained t-shirts/insert your go-to clothes. You need to remind yourself that you are not a slug, that you are a human being that has bad days and move on. That you are fabulous, no matter what you ate the previous day, what the scale says, etc.

The other one was a chapter on lagniappe (pronounced LAN-yap). One of its meanings is an extra that you weren’t expecting, but are now immensely glad to have. Try to live like every moment is lagniappe. People and possessions are fleeting. When you live like every moment is a gift and time is fleeting, every single blessed thing you see, feel and touch is lagniappe.

I have been given two major gifts of lagniappe. My children. Emily is definitely a gift and blessing. Zachary is my lagniappe. My extra that I wasn’t expecting. I am immensely glad that he is my son. I need to work at living the rest of my life in the moment, not taking anything for granted. It’s a hard thing to do. I

t’s so easy to get carried away in the day-to-day grind. Feeling overwhelmed with responsibilities and worrying about having enough when enough is possibly too much. Clear as mud? Basically living my life like it is a lagniappe and, as the one song goes,  like I am dying. It’s going to be an ongoing process, with many backslides. I just want to become more thankful for every blessing that I have.

Back to the book, I would recommend it. While I didn’t “get” all 50 ways, many of them at least made me say “hmmm”.

Leave a Reply

