Love Overflowing

“Healthier” Banana Muffins

on November 11, 2010

I have apples galore and what does Emily want to make?

Banana bread!

I had a really good recipe for a low-fat muffin but I couldn’t find it so I searched the internet for something a little healthier than your normal muffins. I am across one on allrecipes.com and tweaked it a bit. I think they turned out pretty well. Zachary ate almost a whole one with his lunch this afternoon so they can’t be too bad.

Healthier Banana Muffins- my adaptations are in parenthesis

1/2 cup white flour (Original recipe called for 1 cup white flour)
1/2 cup wheat flour
1/2 tsp baking soda
1/8 tsp salt
1 cup mashed bananas (I used 2 bananas)
1/4 cup sugar
1/4 cup applesauce
1 egg (I used 2 egg whites)
1/2 tsp vanilla extract
1/8 tsp nutmeg (my addition)
1/8 tsp cinnamon (my addition)

Preheat oven to 350. Grease muffin cups or use liners.

Mix all dry ingredients, except sugar.

In a separate bowl, beat banana, sugar, egg white and vanilla. Stir in applesauce.

Combine dry ingredients and banana mixture until combined.

Scoop into prepared muffin cups.

Bake 15-20 minutes or until a toothpick inserted in the middle comes out clean.

We also added some craisins to the tops of half of them for added goodness.
Each muffin, without craisins, is approximately 75 calories. Not too shabby if you ask me!

Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

