Love Overflowing

A life taken too soon

on February 24, 2011

I have made some very wonderful friends in my adult life. I have been very blessed to know all of these women. Near or far, these women are  friends who you can always count on for a laugh or a hug. They are women who have seen me through many up’s and down’s.  Today was a day when we cried together.

Today a dear friend lost her husband to cancer. He gave a good fight for three years and his body had finally had enough. He went through grueling treatments during his battle. Unfortunately, this was the type of cancer that just would not give up. My heart aches for her. She has to say goodbye to a man she has shared her life with for 15 years. They have three children together. The youngest are Emily’s age. I keep thinking about how they have never really know a time when their dad was not sick. And how they probably won’t really remember their father. That breaks my heart.

My dear friend has the heart of gold and took each step of this treacherous journey with her husband. She stood beside him even when times were really bad. And she did it with grace. She kept going even when she wanted to stay in bed and weep for her husband. I truly admire her for her fortitude and compassion. She is someone who I strive to be more like.

I know that she and her family will be fine. They will heal, over time. They will cling to each other when time are hard. They will keep his memory alive in their heart. He is not truly gone, as he will always be with them. My prayers are that they can find a sense of peace in his passing. They have had time to “prepare” for this day but I don’t think you can ever truly prepare for a loss this great. Luckily my friend and her family are surrounded by people, near and far, who love them dearly. It hurts to see them in pain but I hope they know that they are never alone.

Today the world lost a good man. My friend lost her husband, her partner and her children lost their daddy. My heart aches for them. Rest in peace dear man. You fought a good hard fight.

“Love is stronger than death even though it can’t stop death from happening, but no matter how hard death tries it can’t separate people from love. It can’t take away our memories either. In the end, life is stronger than death.”

One response to “A life taken too soon

  1. Kristina says:

    This made me cry reading this! I will keep this family in my prayers that they will have the strenght to get through this. I don’t know that it would ever get any easier after loosing a spouse and father to my kids and my heart aches for your friend!

Leave a Reply

