Love Overflowing

15 months and counting!

on May 4, 2011

Guess I should talk about Zachary turning 15 months before he gets any older!

Stats:

24 pounds (43%)
32 1/2 in (Although I am pretty sure the measurement was not accurate as I measured him at 33 inches. There was a Sanford Brown student taking measurements the day we had his appointment.) (88%)
46% for head circumference

The biggest change from 12 to 15 months was walking. Now I should say running. It still strikes me as odd to see Zachary just walking around the house, aimlessly. He is always, always on the go. Always climbing, opening drawers, pulling stuff out of cabinets. Basically driving me nuts, but in a good way. Zachary is also obsessed with closing doors. Door must be closed, whether it’s the back door or the doors to our armoire in our bedroom.

We went through a phase of separation anxiety recently, thankfully short-lived. He didn’t want me to leave him. With Grandma, he was fine. He could only make it 15 minutes in the gym. But we kept trying and he is ok with Mommy leaving now and has fun. He enjoys being around other children even though it is parallel play still.

Zachary loves his books and really enjoys the library. We went to our first set of library programs for his age recently. He wasn’t sure about the whole thing at first but now he really enjoys them. Every time we go to the library he makes a bee-line towards the activity room. Zachary is like a sponge, soaking up so much that he comes in contact with. He has learned so many new words recently. Surprisingly enough, I haven’t taken the time to figure out what all he says. He did combine words recently. “Bye, Jew-ie”. Super cute! His favorite words are “bark, bark”. I am starting to realize that he uses those words for other animals, not just dogs. Birds, cats, you name it. We need to work on that.

Zachary is also the most picky eater I have ever met. It really doesn’t shock me that he is so skinny. The kid just doesn’t eat much. No chicken, beef, pork. And vegetables….. Ha! Wouldn’t touch those with a ten foot pole. What makes it even more frustrating is that one day he will love something and the next day he won’t touch it. I try to make him eat what we eat (within reason) but it’s hard. I can’t send him to bed without dinner. He’s just not old enough to understand that. So he eats a lot of scrambled eggs, lunch meat and grilled cheese. Fruit. Fruit he will eat all day long. I am just beside myself on figuring out how to get this kid to eat and eat healthy.

Zachary really is a sweet, sweet boy. I couldn’t imagine my life without him. He is very intense, sweet and loving. He loves to give what I call drive by huggings. He kisses by turning his cheek toward you so you can kiss it. Zachary is a little snuggle bug really. Give him a book, a sleep sack, his blankie (which he calls “babby” just like his sister. Babby is probably “blanket” to him.), a lap and call it a day.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Leave a Reply

