Love Overflowing

The Mason Werner Foundation

on May 27, 2011

One year ago, my friend Sam lost her son due to SIDS. Her loss really hit close to home as Mason and Will were only three months younger than Zachary. Sam and I had been comparing notes on eating, sleeping and reflux issues. My heart broke for Sam and her family when I heard the news of their unexpected loss.

I don’t know how anyone handles the loss of a child. It’s just not right. There are no words to describe the horror that I am sure Sam and her family go through on a daily basis. My prayer for them is that the pain diminishes. That every morning isn’t filled with sorrow. Mason will always live on in their memories. I can’t tell you why he was taken from them. I don’t understand why God would take a child from his family so young when they are full of life and love. Why the parents hopes and dreams for their children are lost. Why siblings will never know the joy of fighting with each other. These are things that we will never know.

Sam and Rob set up a foundation in Mason’s memory, The Mason Werner Foundation.Their mission is to promote and raise awareness of SIDS. The main method is by providing informational onsies to new parents. Raise awareness of the back to sleep initiative. SIDS cannot be prevented but the risks can be reduced. That is one thing The Mason Werner Foundation hopes they can accomplish with their onsies.

You can help! You can purchase a onsie for your child or as a shower gift or you can make a cash donation. They rely on donations to provide the onsies to new parents, childcare facilities and pediatric clinics.

And if I go, while you’re still here….
know that I live on,
vibrating to a different measure
behind a thin veil you cannot see through.

You will not see me,
so you must have faith.

I wait for the time when
we can soar together again,
both aware of each other.

Until then, live your life to the fullest
and when you need me,
just whisper my name in your heart,
…I will be there.

~Emily Dickinson

 

My prayers and love go out to the Werner family, especially Saturday. Know that you are surrounded by love and that Mason will never be forgotten.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

