Love Overflowing

A stinker and a keeper

on September 14, 2011

I have a love/hate relationship with my sewing machine. I think I would love it more if I actually had more of a clue what I am doing. But I don’t so I am learning as I go. A class might be worth looking into. I just need to actually do it.

I bought two different types of material back in May and just now got around to doing something with them. Those projects got put on the back burner while I made a few other things in the meantime. The first project was going to be a skirt for myself. I was going to use the waistband from existing skirt that had gotten torn. I had grand ideas for this skirt. I figured out how to do a gather stitch, sort of. My problem with the skirt in the long run was the material. The choice I made definitely showed that I was a sewing novice. The material was too heavy and stiff for a gathering stitch and didn’t look right. Besides not gathering correctly, I had some issues sewing the skirt to the waistband. Still, I didn’t think it looked too bad. I was told otherwise. And really, it was bad. The skirt has since been deconstructed and eventually will become either a bag or a pillow.

My other sewing project was an outfit for Emily. I found some super cute apple pattern material on sale at Hancock Fabrics. I had to have it. I bought way too much of it so you might be seeing it again in another form later on. I made Emily a basic elastic skirt. I played around with the zig zag stitch and it turned out pretty cute. It’s amazing how much easier the skirt was because I took the time to really wash the material first, iron and pin well. I also created some little pinwheel flowers for the corner of the skirt. Emily loved it. What’s a skirt without a matching shirt?? I took one of Emily’s plain white t-shirts and turned it into an apple shirt. I had some coordinating green material and heat n’bond. I made an applique apple and painted on the leaf and stem with acrylic paint. Easy enough.

So a stinker and a keeper. My next sewing project involves Halloween material and a pillowcase type dress. I think Zachary will get into the Halloween sewing action with some pajama pants that I saw on Pinterest. (Pinterest is invading everything!!) First I need to finish up birthday invitations for a certain little girl turning 5 next month….

Leave a Reply

