Love Overflowing

Halloween Sewing

on October 4, 2011

A few weeks ago, I picked up some super cute Halloween material. I knew that I wanted to make Emily a “pillow case” dress and possibly something for Zachary. Things got busy and the material sat for a while. At least it had been washed so when I was ready, it was ready for me.

First up was the pillow case dress. I have seen these a million times and they are super cute! They seemed like something I could do, which is really important. Do a search on the internet and you will find a ton of tutorials. The one I ended up using was found on this blog. I had an actual pattern that I picked up at Walmart. To be honest, I was a little more than intimidated by it. I seem to do better with step by step instructions with pictures. I also found this really great video on youtube that taught me how to add bias tape. Want to know a secret? I really think this was one of the easiest things I have made. I had the settings right on the sewing machine and decided not to alter them. I didn’t have to rip out a single seam either. Super easy. I think I will make another one for her birthday.

Next up was Zachary’s “lounge” pants. I found a tutorial on (wait for it) Pinterest. My friend, Julie, wanted to make the same pants for her son as well. We decided to make a girl’s night out of it. I arrived at her house, armed with my sewing machine, notions, cut out pants and a bottle of Chocovine. You really need wine if you are going to sew with a friend, you know. I will admit, there was some cussing on my part. But Julie taught me a few tricks and even, inadvertently, showed me that sewing is easier when you remove the tray and make it a free arm.

The pants are cute. They might be a little short in the legs and the waist but still wearable. No, it wasn’t the wine that caused the issue. The issue was in the cutting. I think the first time you make anything it’s trial and error. I now know to add more allowance for seams. I will definitely be making more of these.

Leave a Reply

