Love Overflowing

What me? Sew what.

on October 12, 2011

I have really been on a sewing tear lately. As mentioned before, Zachary and I recently took a trip to JoAnn’s Fabrics while Emily was in school. I didn’t have to bribe him with fruit snacks or anything. We were on a mission. I needed material for a dress that I planned on making for my niece’s birthday and Rapunzel fabric. Emily is 100% totally enamored with Tangled. She loves the movie, the songs and anything Rapunzel. I thought it would be perfect if I could find some Rapunzel fabric to make her a dress for her birthday. Mission accomplished and I found fabric. Imagine Emily’s disappointment when I told her that I would be making Chloe’s dress first since her birthday was first. I think I heard “It’s not fair that everyone’s birthday is before mine.” Ahh, almost 5.

One afternoon, while Emily was at stay n’ play at preschool and Zachary was napping, I took advantage of the quiet and got sewing. I am getting better at sewing these pillowcase-type dresses. It took me about an hour and a half from start to finish. )I will admit that I was on the phone with my sister party of the time.)  I really love the fabric. I can’t wait to see how it looks on Chloe! I will make her try it on for me after she opens it because I never could get Emily to try it on.

I even made a matching headband for Chloe. I got the idea from my friend Julie. Her mom makes some super cute stuff and made a ton of headbands. She saw one in a shop on Main Street and knew that she could re-create it. I used hers as an example and made one to match Chloe’s dress. It’s not as good as the ones Julie’s mom made but still cute. It was pretty easy. I took leftover material and gathered it a bit. Then I took 2 strips of felt and sewed onto the back, making a sleeve type opening that you can slide a headband through. Make sense?

Without further ado… I give you Chloe’s dress.

Leave a Reply

