Love Overflowing

MMMMM….. Meatballs.

on October 13, 2011

In case you haven’t realized yet, I love trying new recipes. I just don’t have the time to make anything super complicated since I have to basically prep during nap time because Zachary gets a little possessive when I am in the kitchen and wants my attention. I decided that I wanted to try to make meatballs the other day. I combined a recipe that I found on……Pinterest and from a fellow playgroup momma. They were very delicious. Emily kept telling me how much she loved them. She even ate leftovers the next night. Not that there were many left. I wanted to share the recipe as I made it. In parenthesis are the original ingredients and directions.

1 1/2 pounds ground turkey  (Lean ground Beef)
3/4 cup Panko ( Italian style breadcrumbs)
1/2 cup milk
1 egg
1 tsp. garlic powder
2 TBSP parsley flakes
1 tsp. salt
1/4 cup parmesan cheese
2 jars spaghetti sauce
2 sticks mozzarella string cheese, cut in chunks
Mix together & shape into golf ball size or little larger meatballs, put the mozzarella chunk in the middle. Put on cookie sheet & bake 350 degrees for 8 minutes then turnover for another 5 or until browned slightly. (Remove to strainer and rinse under water to remove excess grease. Squeeze each gently with paper towel to squeeze out grease and dry. I skipped this step because the turkey was so lean.) Can be frozen in ziplock bag or cook in spaghetti sauce. To cook in sauce…simmer on low 4 hours in the crockpot or on high for 2 or more hours. I followed the original directions and started it out on high for about 45 minutes and then turned down to low.

I served with spaghetti noodles but you can also serve as meatballs subs or just plain meatballs. The meatballs were so yummy with the melted cheese in the middle.

Leave a Reply

