Love Overflowing

Mission Accomplished!

on December 12, 2011

Back in June, I talked about how I wasn’t a runner. I talked about how I wanted to run a 5k just to prove that I could. Not only did I sign up for one, I FINISHED! I didn’t have the best time but I didn’t quit.

My good friend Julie and I ran in the Jingle Bell run on November 20. It was about 42 degrees and damp. Luckily the rain stopped as we pulled into the parking lot. But it was still cold! I am not used to running outside so the weather was a real challenge for me. My eyes were watering as we ran into the wind. I learned that I really need to work on pacing myself better as well. Bless Julie, she stayed with me and my crazy speed up/slow down pace the entire time. I finished the race in 39 minutes 7 seconds. I was 134 out of 181 in my age group.  But, I finished! And I had a GREAT time!

The atmosphere of the run was so much fun! Despite the cold, people were having a great time. It was fun to see all of the costumes. Julie and I dressed up as elves. I made the costumes for us and Julie’s mom made our leg warmers. I had a blast all around. Preparing, making the costumes and running. It was a lot of fun. While I still don’t consider myself a “runner”, I do want to run another 5k sometime. You won’t see me running any half marathons or marathons though. I like to keep my toe nails. 😉

Thanks again Julie! Hope to run another race with you soon!

Leave a Reply

